2015 Polls

It’s the end of the year, so what better time to run a couple of polls.

The first covers the four novels released this past year.

And the second covers all the free short stories given out this year.

The poll closes in one week (Wed 6th January). Vote wisely!  🙂


Putting Things in Order

We get many emails and enquiries from readers about the timeline of the Lethbridge-Stewart novels, in particular how they relate to the short stories Candy Jar Books give out as incentives to those purchasing the books direct from them. (Titles are links to the best places to purchase/download the titles.)

This is the official reading order.

Top Secret FilesThe Ambush by Andy Frankham-Allen (set in February 1969, this shows the events of episodes one and two of The Web of Fear from Lethbridge-Stewart’s point of view).

The Forgotten Son by Andy Frankham-Allen (set during March 1969, with the prologue taking place prior to The Web of Fear).

Legacies by Norma Ashley (set during February and March 1969 in an alternative timeline, with the final scene taking place just before the epilogue of The Forgotten Son).

One Cold Step by David A McIntee and Andy Frankham-Allen (set April 1969, with the flashback material just prior to The Schizoid Earth).

The Schizoid Earth by David A McIntee (set during April 1969, and an alternative 1959. Epilogue set on May 3rd).

The Cult of the Grinning Man by Tom Dexter (set early May 1969).

Beast of Fang Rock by Andy Frankham-Allen (set primarily during May 1969, as well as 1823 and 1902 [leading directly into Horror of Fang Rock]).

MAD_3DThe Dogs of War by Andy Frankham-Allen (set the end of May 1969. Not currently available).

Mutually Assured Domination by Nick Walters (set during early June 1969).

The Fright Before Christmas by Tom Dexter (set December 24th 1969).

Hope this all helps. See you in the new year… Which reminds us.

From everybody at Candy Jar Books: HAPPY NEW YEAR! 🙂

‘Twas the Fright Before Christmas

It’s Christmas Eve eve, and for the folks at Candy Jar Books it is the end of their first year of Lethbridge-Stewart novels. Range editor Andy Frankham-Allen says, “It’s been a triumphant year, indeed for me it’s been an even longer time, but we finally finished our first year of books to resounding applause. I want to take a moment to thank all the readers who have embraced us, and those who were less certain but took a punt anyway. Without you all this series would have died way back in February, but you kept the faith through the long gap between book one and two, and it paid off. For us all. So, as a thank you, we’ve very happy to offer you all this little Christmas tale free. A gift from us to you.”

Xmas-DownloadsThe Fright Before Christmas by Tom Dexter features invading alien spheres, Santa Claus and Buckingham Palace.

Hayley Cox, Senior Publishing Coordinator at Candy Jar Books, said: “Lethbridge-Stewart has had a great 2015. We were pleasantly surprised by all the positive feedback we received, and felt that we should give something back to the fans for the holidays. This story is just for them.”

Candy Jar Books launched the fully licensed Lethbridge-Stewart series in February 2015, with Andy Frankham-Allen’s The Forgotten Son kicking off the venture in style. Three more titles were subsequently released; each met with high praise from fans and the press.

Sadie Miller, daughter of Elisabeth Sladen and Brian Miller, is set to return to the worlds of Doctor Who with her debut novel, Moon Blink. Sadie’s book headlines the 2016 series of Lethbridge-Stewart novels, and is published in the spring, followed by The Showstoppers by Jonathan Cooper and The Grandfather Infestation by John Peel. A further three novels will be released in the autumn.

The usual discounted pre-order bundles will be on offer from Candy Jar, with a new subscription deal for those wishing to get six books for the price of five! The Lethbridge-Stewart series of books can now be pre-ordered from Candy Jar Books, where you can also download their free short story, The Fright Before Christmas.